About the past 30 days in Art: the Imagination

me as captured at the Ford #FordTryMore party 

So here is my long over due post The Past 30 Days in Art …. It is not your typical post and even gets a little choppy at the end because I was a little rushed. I also came to the realization of all the other things I had on my plate that consist of running a practice. I don’t necessarily call them art but they are essential in keeping things going. So when it came to this I wasn’t shooting for perfection. My interest was more in having a “finished” product so as I could say to myself that was done.

All that being said as I re-watched the video I realized how much I left out. I can not even tell you the amount of projects I consistently have on the go. videos, writings, approach letters , performance pieces and everything  else that goes hand & hand with running an art practice. None of that is ever mentioned because it seems to be just a given of things that gotta be done. None of which includes my training or learning routines. I am also a teacher & in general do what ever I gotta do to get threw in a month.

So here are a couple side notes not mentioned. I read this incredible book called “Making Art Make Money: Lessons from Jim Henson.. ” by Elizabeth Stevens . Assessed the successes of my career including : First year scholarships, free publishings, countless stage proformances & photo shoots & solo shows and even sold out sets of editions(even if they were produced on a minor scale). Which lead to the writing of my Artist resume and signing with an agent. Not bad fer a 120 days work.

All of which I manage to make look relatively easy due to my nonchalant attitude and joy of life. Truth be told it is a lot of the daily grind , boring nights and hours & hours of work. None of which is what I signed up for when I started all this. So that’s about the past 30 day’s and it’s also how the next 30 are looking

~ by Richard Rossetto on October 5, 2015.

Leave a comment