THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN EDITIONS & PRINTS or MEANDERINGS of a MID-AGEDED ARTIST?!?!?!

The video is pretty self explanatory. I thought I should make it as often there seems to be confusion about the difference between Editions & Prints in the art world. Both of which are legitimate ways to own works of art you love and support artists.
For along time I was against the idea of having reproductions of my work made during my life for various reasons. The biggest one being the same fear many collectors have. That fear is it may devalue the original as there is more than one.
Since the first printing of my work in edition form in 2011 those fears have been eased. After having had replications of a few of my works made I came to the understanding that not only did every single reproduction look different then the original, due to the image qualities. I also lost a great deal more then just an “excess” of cash flow. Having been hesitant to have works reproduced in any other form than an indy level not only held my works back from peoples who may have loved and appreciated them. It also made it harder for me to create art and promote my art.
Why??? because if I had “succumb” to my greed and allowed images to reproduced on a mass scale I could have actually provided better for myself as well as had the proper tools with which to create more work.  I can state this with certainty because ART with a capital “A” takes time effort and energy.  For every one good drawing or image there is a number of studies or drawings that never see the light of day.  Therefore there is a certain duality in an artist’s creation.  One must eat in order to live and function (which history and myself has proven isn’t always true) and therefore an artist must constantly be creating. What if though while that artist is pushing through in their vision the works or series they are creating doesn’t sell? Should they then to change their practice to meet the public? Change their essence to fit into the regime.  The answer for me was no.  Had I had reproductions of my work being made on a greater scale maybe I would not have had to choose.  The income that could have been provided through reproduction could have allowed for a more “space”, giving one time to experiment at “leisure” while creating their art. Which is a necessity if one is to push their practice. Yeah I realize that these ideals could be rebutted by the fact one might start making art to then sell just sell “posters”. I say tell it to Toulouse-Lautrec the “god father” of the modern poster art. As a creator it can be a slippery slope either way. After living the one I can say I much would have preferred the other. None the less, it is the artists life and I choose it er maybe it choose me. None the less hind sight is 20/20 and looking back I wish I would have started this long ago.
SOOO ORIGINAL WORKS ,QUALITY EDITION & DIGITAL PRINTS of my work are NOW AVAILABLE at SAATCHI ART
221743_168544866537787_168537999871807_403017_4250009_n

~ by Richard Rossetto on February 17, 2015.

Leave a comment