The Original 5 Automatic Word Drawings

Automatic Drawing

Automatic Drawing

Here are the original five word drawing as I recall creating them. The idea behind these works were first conceived in 2000 when I played with written word on a line drawing. At the time I kept a stream of conscious written journal and sketchbooks for ink drawing . Figuring out that doing both took a great deal of time I decide to combine both efforts as a time saving idea. It is also seemed the best way for a VISUAL ARTIST to keep written account of his life. So in 2002 I started concentrating on the idea of creating images with word. it took till 2007 of the idea to come to fruition. Here are the first works created all but one are owned in private collections held by people other than the artist.
The first work created as in order of appearance in this blog were “Evolution of Being“, “And Darkness Fell Upon Us All“, “Sad Wings of Destiny“, “And Darkness Rained”  and finally “As I Walk Through The Valley of the Shadow of Death“.
These five works were completed almost simultaneously  the only difference being their completion time. To me the speak of human relations and the struggles humanity have faced through out history.

And Darkness Fell Upon Us All

And Darkness Fell Upon Us All

Sad Wings of Destiny

Sad Wings of Destiny

I had created great works of art before these works here spoke to me on a different level as the told me I had come into my own as a creator. I have given up on art many times as my creations have never seemed to be accepted enough to create a even the most basic of living. Art is a deep and dark mistress and always calls me back. As much as I choose her she chose me. these works are her calling me from the darkness.

As Darkness Rained

As Darkness Rained

As I Walk Through the Valley of Shadow and Death

As I Walk Through the Valley of Shadow and Death

here is video of continuos line drawing all that have but returned to the darkness from which they came as many of the people who own them simply disappeared. whether the works remain intact is unknown. (images start at the 2:43 mark if you don’t feel like sitting through the description of who works were created as the sync is off)

ORIGINALS & DIGITAL PRINTS AVALIABLE at SAATCHI ART

~ by Richard Rossetto on February 19, 2015.

Leave a comment